Don't Miss
Home / Things to do / Events / The History of Presidents Day – George Washington’s birthday
George Washington

The History of Presidents Day – George Washington’s birthday

Today is Presidents Day which was created in honor of President George Washington’sPresidents Day birthday. Washington, who was known as “The Father of this Country”, was the first American citizen to be honored with a federal holiday. Presidents Day is celebrated on every third Monday in February.

There were 4 presidents that were born in New York that include, Martin Van Buren, Millard Fillmore, Theodore Roosevelt and Franklin Roosevelt.

Learn more about all of the United States Presidents.

18th Century
1. George Washington 2. John Adams
19th Century
3. Thomas Jefferson 15. James Buchanan
4. James Madison 16. Abraham Lincoln
5. James Monroe 17. Andrew Johnson
6. John Quincy Adams 18. Ulysses S. Grant
7. Andrew Jackson 19. Rutherford B. Hayes
8. Martin Van Buren 20. James Garfield
9. William Henry Harrison 21. Chester A. Arthur
10. John Tyler 22. Grover Cleveland
11. James K. Polk 23. Benjamin Harrison
12. Zachary Taylor 24. Grover Cleveland
13. Millard Fillmore 25. William McKinley
14. Franklin Pierce
20th Century
26. Theodore Roosevelt 35. John F. Kennedy
27. William Howard Taft 36. Lyndon B. Johnson
28. Woodrow Wilson 37. Richard M. Nixon
29. Warren G. Harding 38. Gerald R. Ford
30. Calvin Coolidge 39. James Carter
31. Herbert Hoover 40. Ronald Reagan
32. Franklin D. Roosevelt 41. George H. W. Bush
33. Harry S. Truman 42. William J. Clinton
34. Dwight D. Eisenhower
21st Century
43. George W. Bush 44. Barack Obama